EAS 2011
Congress Information
Scientific Information
Sponsorship & Exhibition
EAS Society
Useful Links
EAS 2011, Gothenburg, Sweden

European Atherosclerosis Society 


The European Atherosclerosis Society was founded in 1964. Its aim is to promote understanding of atherosclerosis: advancing knowledge of its causes, its natural history, its treatment and its prevention.


Membership is open to physicians and scientists who carry out research in both basic and clinical science, in Europe and in neighboring countries. Corresponding members, active in atherosclerosis research, are accepted from around the world.


The European Atherosclerosis Society organizes large annual congresses, smaller scientific workshops, summer schools and other forums for professional interaction and education.

Supporting young scientists

The quality of European research in atherosclerosis depends on the education and enthusiasm of young researchers in the field. A major goal of the society is to support young scientists - their participation in EAS activities will bring new ideas for the future. We provide them with opportunities to present their work, to meet and discuss with more-established colleagues, and also offer financial support, in the form of awards and grants for travel.

The Anitschkow Award

The EAS prize for outstanding research in Atherosclerosis is named after a pioneer in the field, Nikolai Anitschkow (1885-1964).

The EAS and other societies

The EAS collaborates with other European scientific societies on joint educational symposia, guidelines task forces and other projects of mutual interest within the field of cardiovascular research.

Atherosclerosis Journal

The society Journal 'Atherosclerosis' is a monthly, well-respected, peer-reviewed journal, available online at http://www.atherosclerosis-journal.com/.

Executive Committee

An Executive Committee takes care of the Society's daily activities. EC Members are elected for a term of three years. The current members of the executive committee are:


Prof. M. John Chapman

Vice President:   

Prof. Lale Tokgözoglu


Prof. Jan Borén


Prof. Petri Kovanen

Scientific Committee Chair:   

Prof Rudolf Zechner


Prof. Alberico L. Catapano


Dr. Olivier Descamps


Prof. Luis Masana


Partnership between academia and industry is a crucial part of scientific development. EAS activities are supported by the membership fees of individual and corporate members, as well as by public and private sponsors. The EAS actively includes companies in the society as corporate members who are not only partners in the organization of congresses but also work with EAS to support research and educational programs.

Further information

For news and information about what’s happening at the EAS;

  • visit the EAS website www.eas-society.org
  • or contact the administrative executive, Dr Carmel Hayes, at the society’s Gothenburg office

    Carmel Hayes, PhD
    Administrative Executive
    European Atherosclerosis Society
    Kronhusgatan 11
    SE-411 05, Gothenburg, Sweden
    Tel: +46(0)31 724 27 95
    Fax: +46(0)31 724 27 01
    Mob: +46(0)76 861 00 51
    Email: office@eas-society.org
    Web: www.eas-society.org